I don’t think I’m going to keep this website. The review of blog sites that I read said wordpress was easy to use, but it isn’t. It’s awful. I have absolutely no widgets in my sidebar according to the dashboard, but when I look at my blog it has widgets in there. I am trying and trying and trying to get everything out of the sidebar so the sidebar will disappear and the main post will go over the whole screen, and it looks like I did it on the dashboard and then I go look at my site and new random widgets have appeared where I don’t want them. I was going to do a blog first before doing the book because I thought it would be easier. It’s not. It’s horrible and frustrating and I think I’m going to take it down and just write the book. Amazon DTP is WAYYYYYY easier to use that WordPress.

The reason I want the sidebar off is that it squeezes the screen up so everything is smaller, and it’s harder to read. It’s already really hard to read all the back end controls of this thing. Yes, even on my special screen for the visually impaired. A LOT of websites are too hard for me to use because everything’s too small, even with my special equipment. I don’t think I can do this. If I can’t even read my own blog, how can I tell if it’s good, how can I promote it to people? All the back end dashboard stuff is so tiny it’s giving me a headache. I quit. I will just write the book like people said I should in the first place.

I write all my books in Word, as doc files. Programs that are native to Windows have robust handicapped accessibility features. So it’s fairly easy for me to write my books, and then upload them onto Amazon DTP onto the Kindle Store and onto Barnes & Noble’s PubIt system onto their Nook store.  So that’s what I’ll continue to do. 

It is just too hard for me to use this website because I can’t read the words in the control dashboard, they are too small. Even with my special screen. It’s depressing every time I run across something I can’t do because I can’t see. But I can still write books. For now. I don’t know how long this will last, so I’m going to try to publish as much stuff as I can as quickly as I can, while I still can.

